LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR PANEL

10 JUNE 2019

Present: Councillor Merry(Chairperson) Councillors Dilwar Ali, Boyle, Driscoll, Lent, Lister and Graham Thomas

1 : APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

No apologies of absence were received for this meeting.

2 : APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRPERSON

It was noted that Council, at its annual meeting, on 23 May 2019 appointed Councillor Sarah Merry as Chairperson, Local Authority Governor Panel 2018 – 2019.

3 : MEMBERSHIP & TERMS OF REFERENCE

It was noted that Council, at its annual meeting, on 23 May 2019 approved the following:

Membership:

Councillors Dilwar Ali, Joe Boyle, Sean Driscoll, Sue Lent, Ashley Lister, Sarah Merry, and Graham Thomas

Terms of Reference:

- (a) To advise the Council on appointments and removal of Governors to those places allocated to the Local Authority;
- (b) To consider and make decisions relating to the recruitment, training and vetting of potential Governors and any other matters that may be referred to the Panel by the Cabinet for the Constitution Committee; and
- (c) All Members of the Committee will be required to undertake relevant training to enable them to properly discharge their duties.
- 4 : DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The following declarations of interest were received in accordance with the Members' Code of Conduct.

COUNCILLOR	ITEM & SCHOOL	INTEREST
Councillor Joe Boyle	ltem 8b – Howardian	Prejudicial –
	Primary School	Applicant
Councillor Sue Lent	Item 8b – Howardian	Prejudicial –
	Primary School	

5 : MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting held on the 18 March 2019 were agreed as a correct record and signed by the Chairperson.

6 : LOCAL AUTHORITY SCHOOL GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The list of vacancies for Local Authority School Governors was received noted.

7 : EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

RESOLVED – That public be excluded for the followingitemof business as it contains exempt information by virute of paragraph 12 of Part 4 and paragraph 21 of Part 5 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.

8 : EXISTING LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The Committee received and considered applications to current vacancies against criteria, matching skills to vacancies.

RESOLVED – That the Council be recommended to approve the recommendations of the Panel to appoint the following persons to current Local Authority Governing Body vacancies as follows:

SCHOOL	WARD	START OF VACANCY	APPOINTED
Lakeside Primary School	Cyncoed	25/02/2019	Tayyeba Roula
The Court School	Llanishen	17/04/2019	Emma Cousins
Thornhill Primary School	Llanishen	06/02/2019	Catarina Lampreia
Willowbrook Primary School	Trowbridge	30/01/2018	Bethan Wilson
Windsor Clive Primary School	Ely	09/03/2018	Susan Schelewa
Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Glyntaf	Llandaff North	15/01/2019	Sara Vaughan
Ysgol Gymraeg Melir Gruffyd	Whitchurch & Tongwynlais	17/02/2017	Dylan Owen
Ysgol Gymraeg Treganna	Treganna	04/03/2019	Tracey Jones

9 : FUTURE LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR VACANCIES

The Committee received and considered applications to current vacancies against criteria, matching skills to vacancies.

RESOLVED – that the Council be recommended to approve the recommendations of the Panel to appoint the following persons to current Local Authority Governing Body Vacancies as follows:

SCHOOL	WARD	START OF	APPOINTED
Ffederasiwn y Ddraig (New Federation of Ysgol Gymraeg Bro	Llanrumney & Trowbridge	02/09/2019 02/09/2019	Rachel Robjohn Siân Edwards-Poole Glyn Conolly
Eirwg & Ysgol Pen y Pil)		02/09/2019 02/09/2019	Michael L Jones
Albany Primary School	Plasnewydd	24/07/2019	Cllr Dan De'Ath
Bryn Hafod Primary School	Llanrumney	25/09/2019	Jonathan Jones
Cathays High School	Gabalfa	25/09/2019	Cllr Norma Mackie
Creigiau Primary School	Creigiau & St Fagans	25/09/2019	Amanda Bouadana
Fairwater Primary School	Fairwater	24/07/2019	Robert Larkins
Glyncoed Primary School	Pentwyn	24/07/2019	Ceri Veysey
Holy Family RC Primary School	Fairwater	24/07/2019	Carol Cobert
Howardian Primary	Penylan	25/09/2019	Cllr Joe Boyle
School		25/09/2019	Cllr Sue Lent
Kitchener Primary School	Riverside	24/07/2019	Gareth Thomas
Llansdowne Primary School	Canton	24/07/2019	Sacha Davies
Llanedeyrn Primary School	Pentrwyn	17/09/2019	Cllr Joe Carter
Llysfaen Primary School	Lisvane	25/09/2019	Caroline Du Cann
Millbank Primary School	Caerau	25/09/2019	Gillian James
Mount Stuart Primary School	Butetown	24//07/2019	Ruth Williams
Stacey Primary School	Adamsdown	17/09/2019	Cllr Nigel Howells
Tredegarville CW Primary School	Adamsdown	24/07/2019	Natalie Kendrick- Doyle
Ysgol y Wern	Llanishen	24/09/2019	Nicholas Brown

10 : URGENT ITEMS (IF ANY)

No urgent items were tabled at this meeting.

11 : DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The date of the next meeting of the Panel is to be confirmed in due course.

The meeting terminated at 5.45 pm

This page is intentionally left blank